The Barbarian Cycling Club

A Cycling Club with no home

The Epic

Tony e mailed previously about the Epic and I would echo his comments about the fact that it really is just around the corner. I would also echo Richard A’s suggestion that we use the blog www.barbarian.wordpress.com to communicate so I have posted this on there as well.

I wonder when we can train together and do it more like a club run (ie the route is agreed and if you drop off the back then you have to get home). Saturdays are my preferred morning – how many of us can do that and at what time do we need to leave? If Sundays I would need to go early, if Lewis has football, to get back for 10am.

We have a spare bed in the hotel so I wonder if a non Epic rider would want a free bed to document the ride???

It’s contentious within the other club but, for me, this is a Barbarian event – let’s get kit sorted out (would anyone lend Adam a shirt?)

July 24, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

21 Comments »

  1. Yes, Saturdays are probably my best day too. I did have a rough training plan written down somewhere, that was based on the R4RH plan of 50s for a month then 60’s, etc. So a hillyish 50 this Saturday to Ashbourne?

    My only ‘spare’ Barbarian shirt is the Pearl Izumi shirt with the embroidered logo that we had dne for last years ride. Adam’s welcome to use that.

    Comment by tonysheppard | July 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. Unfortunately Sundays are best for me, however Saturdays are a possibility if I get back for Finn & Oscar’s football at 9.30. I like the sound of a hilly 50 but fully expect to get dropped so I’ll bring a map – if we actually get this together this weekend.
    I will also be away for the following 3 weekends in sunny France.

    Comment by Pete | July 25, 2008 | Reply

  3. I can make Saturdays and very early Sundays as I will be managing the Under 9’s this coming season and will have to be back for 9:00 am.

    I also go out on Tues at 6:15 am and Thurs 5:00 am if anyone wants to join in those. Tues is flat and fastish, Thurs is hill work.

    I also do Mon, Wed and Fri on the turbo, we could make those a group session if you want. I am following a programme that is excellent and in 3 weeks has already raised my spinning cadence by 30 rpm.

    Comment by richard41 | July 25, 2008 | Reply

  4. I now have a favourite cadence of 106.

    Comment by richard41 | July 25, 2008 | Reply

  5. I have both the 06 and 07 shirts but they are very different. I don’t mind wearing either. I wonder if the 06 can be sourced and logos embroidered on for Pete and Adam, then we’ll all be wearing the same. Failing that Adam could order a one off then I can order some more shorts (would rather wear Assos) and a Large/Medium shirt.

    Comment by richard41 | July 25, 2008 | Reply

  6. Saturday or Sunday are OK for me now Ed has moved on in tennis.

    I definitely want a shirt. What would the cost of a one off be?

    @Richard, you’re obsessed. Sarah calls me obsessed, but there is no way I can conceive of get up that early for training and I have 3 disciplines to work at. I have pointed out that it could be worse and she could be married to you. Not quite sure what to read into her negative response.

    @Pete, hate to break it to you but France ‘aint always sunny. Pissed down in La Rochelle today.

    Comment by Adam | July 25, 2008 | Reply

  7. If a small shirt will fit, Adam is welcome to borrow my ’07 jersey – short or long sleeve.

    To buy one jersey will cost £37.50 + a surcharge of 20% (see earlier email)+ VAT. I make that £52.88. To get this price down we need to order 6 or more items, which will attract a 10% surcharge, while more than 12 items attracts no surcharge at all.

    As I am one of the two Barbarians not riding the Epic I will consider Adrian’s kind offer but will need to know when it is occurring. I will also have to think how it should be recorded.

    Finally, I’m on quite a strict training programme that involves staying below 150BPM at all times unless I am sitting on a bike attached to turbo trainer. Because of this I generally prefer to ride alone as then there is no temptation to over do it nor the feeling that I’m holding other riders back. Nevertheless, I’ll keep an eye on proceedings and join in when I think a ride will benefit my legs, heart and lungs.

    Love to you all,

    Richard

    Comment by liaew | July 27, 2008 | Reply

  8. I so remember North West France in the rain …… I have looked for the Pearl Izumi Focus (2007) jersey and cannot find one. I did an extensive search early this year and couldn’t find one. I guess they are collector’s items? Getting the badge embroidered is easy but needs a few weeks. I know Adam has huge shoulders and suspect Richard’s may be too small. It may be easier to get one from Impsport but an order needs to go in quick.

    The Epic is on Sunday 5th October. I would suggest a bit of riding and pre and post ride comment … but I am no film director!

    It sound alike Saturday is the majority best day but we are all away over the next few weeks … perhaps we just need to do like the other cycling club and blog on here re rides. May be we can do some turbo training together at our own pace?

    What about watching the Tour of Ireland at my house (Jane is away that week) … I am also planning a time trial that week in Darley Abbey (near Derby)

    Comment by adpugh | July 27, 2008 | Reply

  9. re: shirt, please can you email me details of what I need to order and I’ll get it sorted. I’ll need something to wear at the next Beeston Cycling Club committee meeting ;).

    Like the sound of a time trial and watching Tour of Ireland and training. After weekend after next I’m in full training for epic, as well as a couple of other events. Need some hills so planning to ditch the aero bars and do the 100M Beeston Sportive route on 16th August.

    Comment by Adam | July 28, 2008 | Reply

  10. Richard S ordered them from Impsport http://www.impsport.com

    Comment by adpugh | July 28, 2008 | Reply

  11. BTW @ Rich A … after my hols I am on for the Tuesday morning spin …

    Comment by adpugh | July 28, 2008 | Reply

  12. When do your holidays finish? I think when you return I go away so I don’t think we’ll meet up until 26th Aug. Then its 6 hard weeks training to the Epic.

    Comment by richard41 | July 29, 2008 | Reply

  13. I am back on 17th August so let’s go for it then – at least Tuesdays early and Saturdays. I will also do Thursdays on my way to work.

    Comment by adpugh | July 29, 2008 | Reply

  14. my first tuesday back is the 26th, I go on the 11th

    Comment by richard41 | July 29, 2008 | Reply

  15. Bloody hell……there’s a lot to catch up on here!

    Reading what you lot are planning to do I hope I can get in enough training for the Epic, especially with the decorating of the new extension that I guess I will be expected to prioritise.

    I’m going to be away for a 7 days sometime between the 16th -31st August. As I’m off work for the whole of this time I’m hoping to get a few extra rides in. @Richard A…are you off work for the whole of August?

    I think we’ll need to alert the hotel if a sixth person is staying as I’ve booked 1 ‘family room’ and 1 ‘twin’.

    Adrian…tell me about the TT.

    Comment by tonysheppard | July 30, 2008 | Reply

  16. I am struggling with the TT actually. Can’t find start routes etc. Look at VC Long Eaton to find details … I have now changed to 4th September one but I just need to find the details.

    Comment by adpugh | July 30, 2008 | Reply

  17. I’m happy to order Adam’s shirt unless you’ve already ordered it.

    Don’t want to add to hassles in terms of organisation for Epic so I won’t be coming along.

    Richard

    Comment by liaew | July 31, 2008 | Reply

  18. Tony

    We do need to make room for one more, Paul is coming along with us. I’ll try and catch up with on the ride Saturday to discuss.

    Comment by richard41 | August 2, 2008 | Reply

  19. @Richard S, thanks. I’m a Medium according to the ImpSport size chart. Drop me an email with your bank details and I’ll transfer the money.

    Comment by Adam | August 3, 2008 | Reply

  20. Tony, I transfered the £20 this morning so you should see it in your bank, apologies for the tardiness.

    Comment by richard41 | August 3, 2008 | Reply

  21. Thanks Richard.

    Comment by tonysheppard | August 3, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

